Jump to content

Talk Electrician Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy, Terms and Conditions and Disclaimer for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Welcome to Talk Electrician Forum

Welcome to Talk Electrician Forum, the UK's Friendliest Electrical forum on the internet, whilst you can view all our posts and topics like most online communities you must register to post (reply, or ask a question) in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. We do have different membership levels (called silver and gold) as a subscription service, BUT, this is an extra, and not needed, So please feel free to join for FREE, and then decide if you like our community, and would perhaps like to subscribe to any of our our extra services. Our members offer the best advice in the electrical industry including DIY,Domestic,Commercial,Industrial,Renewables,Health and Safety issues and Control and Automation.

Be a part of Talk Electrician Forum by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

Garage Sockets and Lighting


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 88daveb

88daveb

    Junior Member

  • Bronze Member
  • 29 posts
Offline

Posted 19 July 2010 - 11:38 AM

I've been asked by my uncle to do a few sockets and lighting in the garage. Would a 16A radial do the trick for the 3 sockets and to feed the lighting off the existing 6A MCB.

The lighting will probably be 1 or 2 flourescents.

Or will a ring be a better solution?

#2 ianmacd

ianmacd

    Distinguished Member

  • Bronze Member
  • 3,873 posts
  • Country:United Kingdom
Offline

Posted 19 July 2010 - 11:42 AM

Are these existing circuits? What is he planning on using the the garage?

#3 88daveb

88daveb

    Junior Member

  • Bronze Member
  • 29 posts
Offline

Posted 19 July 2010 - 12:19 PM

I will be stripping out the old circuit as they are redundant and beyond repair
he'll be using power tools, radio, etc.

I'll be putting a new cct in.

#4 Apache

Apache

    Cow Fiddler ™

  • Resident Vet
  • 16,293 posts
  • Skills:Agricultural, DIY (Self Taught), Other
  • Training:Other
  • Employment:Other
  • Country:United Kingdom
Offline

Posted 19 July 2010 - 12:27 PM

Is the garage distant to or joined onto the house? If distant what's the earthing arangement at the property?

You have to calc it but if you just want a few sockets for power tools you could likely spur off your 16A radial and fuse down for the lights. No need to bother with a ring. How is the cable to be run? You could maybe do it on a 20A if you wanted a little more?

So long as you don't want a kiln out there........

#5 paul b b

paul b b

    Distinguished Member

  • Gold Member
  • 1,732 posts
  • Locationstuck between a firm pair of t***
  • Skills:Domestic
  • Training:Short Course
  • Employment:Self Employed
  • Country:United Kingdom
Offline

Posted 19 July 2010 - 02:21 PM

lights will be fine on a 6A
the sockets will depend on how and what he will be using, 16A if its just hobby stuff etc, if he is however like my dad who will leave the saw on whilst using the sander the i would recommend a 32A ring

paul

#6 ianmacd

ianmacd

    Distinguished Member

  • Bronze Member
  • 3,873 posts
  • Country:United Kingdom
Offline

Posted 19 July 2010 - 02:23 PM

Assuming the distribution circuit is up to it too.

#7 88daveb

88daveb

    Junior Member

  • Bronze Member
  • 29 posts
Offline

Posted 20 July 2010 - 09:44 PM

the garage is joined onto the house and for the circuit i willl run it off a new MCB.

Now, will the new lighting cct to be installed for the garage be ok to terminate into the existing lighting MCB 6A which controls the lighting in the house. or will reg's prevent that, due to being outside or two many terminations in one MCB, etc.

#8 Apache

Apache

    Cow Fiddler ™

  • Resident Vet
  • 16,293 posts
  • Skills:Agricultural, DIY (Self Taught), Other
  • Training:Other
  • Employment:Other
  • Country:United Kingdom
Offline

Posted 20 July 2010 - 09:48 PM

the garage is joined onto the house and for the circuit i willl run it off a new MCB.

Now, will the new lighting cct to be installed for the garage be ok to terminate into the existing lighting MCB 6A which controls the lighting in the house. or will reg's prevent that, due to being outside or two many terminations in one MCB, etc.


It would be fine, but if there was a problem with the lights outside (water, rodent) it will knock all your lights off. We recently had a discussion on cables into a MCB - as many as will fit!

#9 88daveb

88daveb

    Junior Member

  • Bronze Member
  • 29 posts
Offline

Posted 20 July 2010 - 10:01 PM

I dont think the cables will need to go outside for the lighting cct, so i'll just be using TandE.

ta fellas for the feedback.

work starts tomorrow.!

#10 M107

M107

    Billy-the-Kid

  • Gold Member
  • 4,601 posts
  • LocationBerkshire
  • Skills:Domestic, Commercial, Vehicle
  • Training:Other
  • Employment:Self Employed, Employed
  • Country:United Kingdom
Offline

Posted 21 July 2010 - 07:41 AM

16 or 20 amp 2.5mm radial

or
32amp 4mm radial

or
32amp 2.5mm ring final

use fcu fused at 3amp off of your socket circuit for the lights

Or go the whole hog and

6 or 10mm from a 32amp/40amp mcb (depends on your loading & a few other factors) @ house cu into garage & plonk in a small 2way cu with mcb's for seperate sockets & lighting circuits. If the house & garage are integral just export the earth from house cu, if not look at TT'ing the garage.
Dont forget the rcd.

#11 ianmacd

ianmacd

    Distinguished Member

  • Bronze Member
  • 3,873 posts
  • Country:United Kingdom
Offline

Posted 21 July 2010 - 08:10 AM

Don't forget this would be notifiable.

#12 SLIPSHOD & SLAPDASH

SLIPSHOD & SLAPDASH

    Distinguished Member

  • Bronze Member
  • 6,392 posts
  • LocationCloud Cuckoo Land
  • Skills:General All Rounder, Domestic, Commercial, Industrial, Other
  • Training:Time Served, Apprenticeship
  • Employment:Self Employed
  • Country:United Kingdom
Offline

Posted 22 July 2010 - 09:56 PM

6 or 10mm from a 32amp/40amp mcb (depends on your loading & a few other factors) @ house cu into garage & plonk in a small 2way cu with mcb's for seperate sockets & lighting circuits. If the house & garage are integral just export the earth from house cu, if not look at TT'ing the garage.
Dont forget the rcd.



Thats how i would do it. SWA from C/U so no Rcd needed that end into a 'Garage consumer unit' in the garage that normally has an Rcd main switch and 1x16 & 1x6 A breakers. If welders etc are to be used swap the 16A for a 32A and make sockets a ring.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users