5 Day Wonders ........yes Again !

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evans Electric

TEF LINUX ADMIN™
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I make no apology for returning to this subject , as it was brought back to  mind this morning when a plumber of great verbosity appeared for an hour .

He was one of The Ancients , like myself  and wittered on that he was fed up of all the courses and attending skill assessments at colleges on gas fires...cookers ..gas meters .etc etc   Then mentioned he was qualified for "Part P"   .

"Is that the Limited Scope thing , for doing boiler electrics ?"     Says I .

"No I did the 5 day course Part P  and  I'm an electrician now as well as a plumber "    Says he . 

The empty space above is me being speechless.   :C   

:eek:   My thoughts too .     I just don't get it , I really don't .     Didn't that Parliametary Special Committee  comment on the trade's use of the phrase  5 Week Wonders ........   I'm talking about a 5 Day Wonder .   

I said to the plumber "  Well I couldn't learn to be a plumber in 5 days "         He says  " No 'course yer can't "   :C

:eek:   My thoughts too .     I just don't get it , I really don't .     Didn't that Parliametary Special Committee  comment on the trade's use of the phrase  5 Week Wonders ........   I'm talking about a 5 Day Wonder .   

I said to the plumber "  Well I couldn't learn to be a plumber in 5 days "         He says  " No 'course yer can't "   :C
5 day plumbing course? erm... what do you do from 9.05 on the first day? sit around the rest of the week?

I met a '5 day wonder' recently and asked him how he was getting on. Yes I'm doing part P work now he told me, and I'm busy.Then he added, ' NAPIT wouldn't accept me but ELECSA did'. He knows I am a full scope member of NAPIT (he didn't have sufficient qualifications or experience for NAPIT membership).