Self employed sole trader and CIS tax question.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a self employed sole trader and have been for 7 years, filling in my own self assessment tax return each year. Up until now always working directly for private individuals for all jobs including new builds, or companies for repairs, alterations and new builds.

However I have just completed my first new build working for a company building the building. so I find it falls under the CIS scheme.

So I have contacted HMRC and I'm now registered under the CIS scheme and understand the contractor will deduct basic rate 20% tax from my payment under the CIS scheme and they should provide me a statement of payment and tax deducted.

So my question, how exactly do I submit this on my next self assessment at the end of this tax year.

I presume I enter the payment in as part of my "income" (turnover) and any expenses such as travel etc goes under expenses on my self assessment.

I also assume that the tax that will have been deducted by the contractor I'm working for goes on my self assessment as "tax already paid" Is that correct.

But on my "income" do I enter the gross payment, or the net payment after tax? I assume the net payment otherwise it looks like I may be taxed twice if I enter it as gross payment?

The HMRC website makes mention of monthly CIS statements to them, but it also looks to me that is only for the contractors to sumbit tax paid and net payments paid to subcontractors. Do I as a sub contractor now have a burden of submitting a monthly statement of net receipts and tax paid? or do I just leave it all to put on my end of year tax return?