Greenhouse And Shed

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DIYShock

Reaction score
Hello!  Just as a way of introduction as I'm a newbie on this forum, I am a DIYer but have a relatively sound though basic understanding of wiring and would consider myself to have at least a little common sense.

I am installing a small supply from a radial main in the garage to a greenhouse and shed which are within 10 meters of the garage wall.  The entire supply is RCD protected at the CU.

I have used 1.5mm 3 core SWA at a depth of at least 300mm - it's going to be under 3" concrete for most of it's run outside and have placed the warning tape on top.

The intention is to supply a single socket in the greenhouse (using an IP66 socket) and a double socket in the shed (IP55 double socket) for use with mowers and blowers, greenhouse fan heater etc.  Unlikely that all will be in use at once and certainly don't see the supply ever reaching 13A.

1) If I attach the cable to a 13A plug and plug it into a garage socket, do I need to have it checked under Part P, since it is outside wiring, though essentially just a buried extension cable?  (If nothing else, Diall seem to sell kits to specifically allow a DIYer to do this!)

2) Is it reasonable (though I assume Part P checkable) to connect the supply to the end of the garage radial main (Which currently has 3 sockets running very little off them)?

3) If I wire up the greenhouse and shed plugs, but leave the internal garage connection, would a professional be happy to connect the cable, test it, and part p sign it, or does it not work that way?

4) (and Finally) Can an IP66 socket be mounted on the floor (socket holes pointing to the sky) or would I need to make a little stand for it to sit as if it were in a wall (the greenhouse itself isn't strong enough for a socket to be attached)?