Earthing For Mobile Burger Vehicles

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Max6979

Reaction score
The mobile I was assessing last week had a petrol generator providing power via an inverter for a variety of catering equipment. My questions are as follows

a) If the mobile has RCD protection , would this be sufficient in absence of a TT earth ?

b) If just RCD is not sufficient how would a satisfactiory earth be achieved in practical terms - mobile is on highway next to a pavement.?

(I am studying for level 3 2365 - last year sucessfully past the level 2 2365 - so I am attending evening classess at a local college whilst working during the day- my day job involves assessing mobiles for street trading consents etc- I know a few will reply stick to the day job but just wanted to recieve the best guidance out there as I know that the engineers on this forum have many more years experience than I have.) 

Any helpful advice or guidance relating to this issue would be appreciated.

Thanks

Interesting question, a bit out of my normal work as there may be a reg that the smaller genny does not need a earth stake (dont count on that, i dont have the book with me)  However the bigger problem would be putting an earth stake in. I do work for a utilities company and often connect up large gennys at the side of the road. Their guys laugh at me as I wont put an earth stake in until the area has been cat scanned with 2 different machines. A mobile van has not got the right to do this anyhow.

All these type of gennys i know have the N & E bonded so really they are a tncs supply

This is the last one we did right on the A13 by the Blackwall tunnel

2013-12-21 13.58.39.jpg

2013-12-21 13.58.58.jpg

Their guys laugh at me as I wont put an earth stake in until the area has been cat scanned with 2 different machines