Two Earth Wires - Fitting New Pendent Light - Help!

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joe Thompson

Reaction score
Hi all, 

This is my first attempt at DIY on light fittings and really want to make sure i'm doing everything 100% correct before electrocuting myself! 

I have taken down my old light fitting, which was metal, and i'm putting up a new one which is fully insulated. 

The old light fitting had a black sheath with the live and neutral inside, and the earth was connected to the metal casing up to the rose on the ceiling. 

After removing all of this i have noticed on the ceiling rose that there are two earth cables coming from the ceiling which are both attached tot the role. The earth and neutral are attached to the block on the ceiling. 

Can anyone tell me why there are two earth wires? Am i safe to simply remove the live, neutral, and one of the earth wires and simply attach to the new block in my new lamp fitment. 

Unfortunately it will not let me post link or pictures so I cannot show you the pictures i took!

The two earth wires are basically a loop in and loop out. To maintain continuity of earth, these must be connected together. The class two fittings you are installing do not require an earth, but that does not mean that the earth can be omitted. Remember any cable requires to be fully protected during its length.

It sounds to me that the op is quite lucky he hasn't got a lot of supply and switch loop wires as well. Unless they are tucked up in the ceiling? But it would be interesting to know if these are singles or twin & earth. Could be old pre 1966 wiring with no original earths that an earth was added when the metal fitting was put up. How old is the property? What colours are your live and neutrals and earths,  Red/Black,  Brown/Blue,  Yellow+Green or just solid green?

Doc H.