Third Party Certification

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

othen

Reaction score
Good morning,

I have the qualifications (2382 and 2391) from a previous life, but have never practiced as an electrician (I was a surveyor before retiring, now I'm a BTL landlord).There does not seem to be any reasonable way of being able to self-certify notifiable work on my own properties short of setting up as a full time electrician, which seems odd to me.

The best deal seems to be STROMA, and I notice their package comes with 'Third Party Certification' (for 2391 holders) and I'm wondering whether there might be a niche business opportunity to get around the problem above, and at a cost much less than council building control offices charge (£310.50 here in Corby). I'm wondering whether there are enough electricians out there that mostly work on commercial jobs, or part time electricians that mainly do perhaps building maintenance, plumbing, kitchen fitting, decorating etc. who might find it useful to have the occasional notifiable job certificated? Effectively this would be undercutting building control (but I'm not sure that would be difficult, the fees are pretty high).

Perhaps there are already people out there doing this work, in which case the niche would already be filled (perhaps you would let me know)?

It seems to me that I could make a viable part time business, maybe one day per week, certifying other electricians' notifiable domestic jobs that would justify investing in membership of STROMA, some liability insurance and getting my meter calibrated, so I could then legally certify jobs on my own properties (which is really what I want to do). I'm thinking that a flat fee of £150 would undercut the council by half, two half-day jobs per week would then generate about £15,000/year, which would make it just about worth doing.