DONT STAY LURKING AS A GUEST,

JOIN TEF AND BENEFIT FROM MEMBERSHIP:

CLICK HERE TO JOIN.

Bending Conduit

apprentice87

Question

Hi All,

Just designing a tubular steel frame for something.. How difficult, from a physical point of view, is bending 32mm conduit?? I have a good bender, one of these..

http://www.buckandhickman.com/find/keyword-is-RECORD/product-is-211891

Only got it the other day, not used it yet, would a load of 90 degree bends be seriously hard work, as in have a hernia and nearly break the bender, or not too bad????

john....

When I was an apprentice 30 years ago one of my first jobs was to bend 32 mm galvanised conduit round concrete beams in an underground carpark. The bender lay flat on a table and had a huge screw which look a bit like a corkscrew,it took two of us to turn this and gradually it would form a 90 or an offset depending which the journeyman needed,we did not learn much about bending conduit but we grew to hate the designers who came up with these ideas.I passed the carpark the other day and yes the conduit is still there with BT multicores running thru them ,thank God for plastic,

jD

Good luck with that then

You will prob end up with a couple of lumps in your neck....those will be your 'nads

Heating the tube may help, as will fastening the bender down to something solid ...ooh err Mr Barrymore...and shove a piece of tube over the arm ato extend it, then SWING like a Gibbon

Not much fun then?? Might use some smaller stuff, say 25 or 28mm...

john..

Key clamp tubes? quite large may be easier to bend with the right stuff perhaps? but I wouldnt know as we buy in all the corners and angles.

:)

I find bending 25mm steel conduit hard enough these days - never mind 32 !. My only suggestion is that you get a second man - a strong one - to help when you do the bending.

There are quite a few benders on the News nowadays

You really need to go hydraulic if above 25mm unless you are equiped with biceps like A Schwarzeneger Esq