Sunny boy 3300

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kgh1977

Reaction score
Hi all. 

I've been given a sunny boy 3300 inverter & 2 24v 250w mono panels.

I'd like to bench test the inverter but the manual points to a min DC input of 200v.

I know the 2 panels alone are way below the required amount, but was hoping that 24/48v may enable me to view the display. 

I have no previous experience with solar & would greatly appreciate any help.

:signthankspin:

Dig out the manual on-line, there's usually an option to have display ON but without DC, sometimes listed as night-time mode. AC will fire up from cold, but without DC is does tend to shut down again.

Thanks for the info lads.

Think I'm gonna need a different inverter. Wanted an off grid install :(

Any recommendations for off grid inverters?

Hi guys

Connected ac side of inverter to supply & powered up....nowt.

Tested for voltage on inside of inverter and 240 there.

Waited for a bit but nothing.

Can't see any switches that would cut power if lid is removed.

Do I also need a dc supply?

I have the same issue with my sb3300. Nothing happens when I plug in ac power but if I connect 70v dc to the over side I get all three lights coming on and staying on. It might be that the electronics are run from the dc side and the capacitors are used to store some power to run the system during night time. I can find nothing on any forums to confirm this so any help appreciated.

If the system genuinely runs of dc side then it would seem to be suitable for off grid providing you don’t draw more ac then it provides. That probably means lots of panels.

I currently have two large Pannel’s rated at about 35v and 350w each so I’m limited to what I can pump into it. There’s very little discussions on the minimum dc supply but would seem to be around 200v