Solar PV Design - Oldtimer

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

myatix

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a retired professional electrician who now lives in Denmark. The Danish government has just started a Solar PV grant and I want to install an Grid-tied array. The problem is I do not have any experience installing a Solar system although it seems pretty straight forward. I just need some advice on the design of the optimal solar PV system.

I have been researching the various possibilities and I am currently leaning towards a solar PV system using SMA Sunny Boy 240 Micro Inverters. It appears that there are some big advantages to using Micro Inverters compared to a dedicated single inverter. The main one being that you can monitor each individual panel in the array rather than monitoring the entire array as a whole. (Give you the opportunity to see faulty panels and use various wattage panels in the array should it be required.)

The Danish government requires that the maximum Inverter effect is 6kWh

I would also like add a battery backup for off grid usage, especially has Denmark isn't the sunniest country in the world.

I have based my calculations on the following:

Annual Electricity Consumption (kWh): 4000

Solar Production / Year (kWh): 5300

Expected Personal Consumption: 43%

Electricity Price / kWH (First Year): £ 0.225

Electricity Annual Price Increase: 5%

Electricity Sales Price (1-10 Years): £ 0.09

Electricity Sales Price (11-20 Years): 0

Solar Panel Annual Degradation: 0,50%

Roof Direction: South

Roof Angle: 25˚

I am interested in hearing any design suggestions that you young sparks might have???

Current Considered Design (based on research):

18 x SMA Sunny Boy 240

18 x PanasonicVBHN330SJ47

1 x SMA Multigate 

1 x SMA Energy Meter