Safe electrical isolation check before servicing boiler

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

water and gas

Reaction score
Hi all,
Just spent a week placement with British Gas. Part of the boiler service is to complete a Dynamic Assessment Checklist, and so, first perform a safe electrical isolation check. Now this involves 2 tasks: 1st using an electric pen voltage tester over the boiler and 2nd using a socket and see device.
Where I get confused is does the pen tester to check earth continuity and the socket and see device to check the resistance polarity or the way around?
I am a newbie in the trade and need some clarification also as to what both tests differs from each other?
I thank in advance anyone who will offer its support.
Really appreciated guys!!
Thank you!!!

Any chance you can post a copy of this document.

I've a strong feeling they haven't taught how to safely prove dead or isolate. Or even in fact use the correct equipment.

Both those examples of testing do not meet the HSE guidance on safe isolation. If they are asking you to work to these guidelines then you must challenge them under H&S. 

assumes boiler is on a plug, which it shouldn't be.

Pen tester, or rough voltage indicator is a more accurate description, is only a rough test for voltage being present, ie cabling may be live. These can easily be confused by other live equipment being in close proximity.

Socket tester - some have an indication of Zs built in, but most don't. These are more for checking polarity and presence of a live earth and neutral. Fairly meaningless and only useable with a socket.