New Zealand Wiring Infomation please?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flylead

Reaction score
Sorry if this is a bit off topic, but I hope someone can help, please?

I'm a retired electrical surveyor I worked on industrial, commercial, healthcare, educational and loads of blocks of flats.

My son is considering buy a house in New Zealand and has sent me the report to have a look at.

The one electrical photo shows about 10 porcelain re-wireable fuses 6 Wylex type push-in type b/2 mcbs fixed to a board without cover or enclosure, no cables are visible.

The building inspector describes the installation as modern.

My question is; Is this what passes for a modern installation or is the inspector being "enthusiastic"?

The other thing is that I've been trying to get a look at the equivalent of BS7671 so's I can see what sort of things are required, but so far I've not been able to find anything, is there someone who can point me in the right direction, please?

Thanks in anticipation...

Flylead,

Welcome to the forum.

I am guessing that you are in the UK, going by your reference to BS7671?

The Australian/New Zealand equivalent is AS/NZS 3000:2007 with the 2nd Amd in 2012.

These are also based on IEC 60364, like BS7671, however, Oz & NZ joined the harmonisation process later than the UK I believe, (not sure, just what I think).

As far as what's what, I can't help, I've never worked nor travelled there.

I think, that we have a couple of members who have both travelled to Oz & NZ & worked there, perhaps they can help with experience of the installs.

I have been to Aus and was not particularly impressed with their wiring, it all seems very basic compared to what we do.  But I wouldn't expect to see porcalein fuse holders in a "modern" installation.  Do you want to post the pictures for us to have a look at.