Static Caravan Electrical Safety Certificate.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slowhand

Reaction score
I've been asked to do a static caravan electrical safety certificate is it the same as an eicr?

I've never done one before and don't have a clue what's wanted.

Anyone know? 

have you done any other eicr before?

Yes.

Check the Regs Slowhand ....Section 721    . Which actually state that general requirements apply   ( 721.1   Note 1)

Thanks Evans l did check them.

I also checked section 708, quite a few of the hook-ups don't comply.

The caravan site has a guy that does these certificates but none of the customers ever get to see them.

They pay for them but don't get a copy.

I've never seen one so l don't know what they look like.

I suppose the question should have been is there a specific certificate for this or will an eicr suffice?

Just to clarify an EICR is a report not a certificate. Whatever work you are doing be it Minor, Rewire or Inspection and test, the essential information required for certificate and reporting is detailed in the model forms at the back of BS7671. There is no 'specific certificate' or report for caravans or anything else. Any electrician can produce their own in whatever style they like, providing all of the key details found on the model forms are recorded somewhere on either a hard copy media, or stored electronically, then that would be considered as complying with BS7671. If you compare an NICEIC or NAPIT EICR to the model forms they are all slightly different in format. So with your static caravan you could use a standard layout EICR exact copy from BS7671, or something more suitable to your own design with any non-relevant parts removed for ease of clarity.

Doc H.

As The Doc says  .