Apprentice training

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AQE

Reaction score
Hi, I am a self employed general electrician. I have an apprentice who is doing well and I would like to support him further by providing a detailed training guide. It seems he does not get much training at college 'about hands' on tasks.

I would like to provide him with written information on how to do each specific task, how to fit an outside light, how to wire a 2 way lighting circuit, how to install a consumer unit, etc.

Does anybody know of a information pack that includes this ?.

Best regards,

AQE

You shouldn't be giving him step by step written instructions. You should be teaching him to think for himself, instill the thought process into him, so every time he starts a new job, he will be able to weigh up the Pro's and cons and work out how to approach each job for himself. By all means draw out some basic circuit diagrams, but anything else is overkill.

Hi Rapparee, thank you for your comment. I agree he needs to think for himself. However in my opinion he does need to know how each job should be done safely and correctly. He can then adapt that knowledge to the variations of each job.

Best regards,

Alec

I agree with rapparee, don’t give join the dots instructions. Lay out what the task is and leave the apprentice to get on with it. Once the task is finished go though it with them point out bits that could be improved, you’ll have to be diplomatic so as not to put them off.

I applaud you for wanting to give the best training you can.  :Salute

Hi Rapparee, thank you for your comment. I agree he needs to think for himself. However in my opinion he does need to know how each job should be done safely and correctly. He can then adapt that knowledge to the variations of each job.