unbelievable!

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phil d

Reaction score
Reading in the paper this morning about how a hospital trust has been unable to recruit enough nurses, because, wait for it, the ones they wanted to bring in from the Phillippines failed an English language test!

Rachel Overfield, director of nursing at Walsall healthcare said,"they're capable of doing the job, but we can't bring them in because of the rules".

Apparently she's going to lobby for a rethink on the tests! Lets hope she never has to go into one of the hospitals if they are allowed to employ non English speaking staff.

How can anyone who doesn't speak,read,or write English be deemed suitable or fit to work in a British hospital?

In recent years I've had a lot of experience of hospitals, most of it bad, I saw 3 psychiatrists, all Indian and all with a very poor command of the English language, when I asked if I could see an English doctor I was initially accused of being racist!, then when I explained that  I could not understand these foreigners, I was told I could not see an English psychiatrist as there were non employed within our region!

Recently after much wrangling, a foreign nurse was sacked at a hospital, as she could neither speak nor read English, apparently as she was living abroad at the time of her application, her "interview" consisted of filling in some forms and sending them  to her prospective employer. She had gotten a friend to fill them in on her behalf, she arrived in the UK and worked for many months in the UK despite numerous complaints, as they were unsure how to get rid of her!

Now hold on a moment, speaking the language of the country you are going to work in should be a major requirement, she obviously lied to obtain the post, so isn't that gross misconduct?