old fashioned fuse box

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mizzle2

Reaction score
Hi All,

first, I have to say I am a total novice. I know nothing about electricity.

I live in an older house that has a lot of work done, and various bits changed in the electrical cupboard, but it has never been rewired.

My upstairs lights blew a few days ago. they went as i switched the bedroom light on, so I am guessing that is what blew them.

This has happened once before, and an electrician charged £75 to fix the fuse.

This question is a bit odd. My neighbour can fix the fuse for me, but he CANNOT LOCATE THE FUSEBOX.

There are 2 fuseboxes. Once is a pushy out type you can see. And another, old fashioned wired type.

Is it going to be in the big grey metal box with the red switch on please?

I have a photo, can I upload it here please?

I am lost.

Any help appreciated.

Karen

Nobody can tell you which fuse box the lighting circuit is going to be , but it will be the one with a blown fuse.

If you are paying an electrician £75 a time to replace a fuse, then he's ripping you off imho. How long was he in the house for? was it just replacing a fuse or did he spend time finding and fixing the fault that caused it to blow?

Perhaps you are better off putting your next £75 towards a new consumer unit (which will also mean a lot of testing and probably some remedial repairs to make it acceptable)

If you are lucky, have a look at the inside of the cover that you unscrew to gain access to the fuses. You might be lucky and find someone has labelled which fuse does what.  To narrow it down a bit, lighting circuits are usually the white 5A fuses (though not always)

Last edited by a moderator:
You can upload your pic to a  picture site and then link from here. Once you have posted a few more times you will be able to upload directly.

cheers, Paul