storage heater problem, no power at night to charge

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greyhound

Reaction score
Hello, new here :)  hope I have posted in the right forum. I have had storage heaters before but never this problem - they do not charge at night, there is no switch over to charge them up. I understand people have issues with them but I have had them for years before moving here.

The heaters have their own rcd board, and it seems like the supply does not switch on at night. I'm not an electrician but a concerned, new tenant without any central heating and  looking for advice.

The supplier has already changed our meter for a brand new one in case it was faulty. It is economy 7 and it says 'single phase watt hour, solid state digital' landis e150.

The storage heaters look like basic older models,  there is no indicator light to see if they are on, elements only and no convector. They have a switch on the wall that is on.

The meter does register use at night, the immersion heater is on another rcd board and connected to a timer so we have hot water.

An electrician employed by the landlord has been here twice, once to check we were using them correctly so he set them again..... and the second time to switch them over to the 'day board' to prove the wiring to the heaters worked and they actually switched on.