Shared Neutral (not borrowed) 3 phase

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard Tawn

Reaction score
Treading the line, 314.4 of BS7671 states all circuits must be separate,

I look at the following on paper and looks good?

3 pole breaker feeding 3 x single RCD protected (built in) sockets each on a different phase but sharing the neutral (one per machine),

cables are routed via steel conduit,

I am an engineer not a qualifiued electrician ,

I would rather not have to rewire our current setup as cant fit more cable in the steel conduit !

Any takers on the legitamacy of this, as I said it seems to look good on paper as the sockets are connected via steel conduit essentially making them an isolated single 3 phase outlet !

Nope, that's not right.

If the 3P+N ran to a sub board first then it would be fine.

If it ran to a machine control cabinet it could be fine (depending on how the machine was wired).

If it is literally just 3 sockets on a wall on the end of effectively a 4 core cable then it isn't actually correct. Electrically it will work, but it is not the correct way of doing it.

shared / borrowed are the same thing. the neutral belongs to 1 circuit, the other 2 are borrowing it. its also potentially dangerous if someone isolates 1 circuit and then the neutral is suddenly live one disconnected

Do as Lurch said........TPN to sub-board, use rcbos for final circuits & bin the 7288's

I would argue it is a single circuit with multiple outlets and therefore I can’t see a problem.

I think the fact it is clearly 3 different single phase BS1363 outlets that is the issue here.

From the one end it is a single circuit because of the TP MCB, but then the socket outlet connected to L1 and N would be on a circuit, which means that L2 & L3 are 2 other circuits.