GEC Compact 45

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ursula

Reaction score
Hello all,

I have just moved into a house (built in 1995) with an Economy 10 meter and an electric "GEC Compact 45" boiler downstairs, with a big hot water cylinder upstairs. I have no experience of using this sort of system and it doesn't come with a manual. There are no timers on either appliance. The boiler has just an on/off switch, a boost dial and a radiator temperature dial. The hot water cylinder has 2 switches on the wall next to it, at the top and the bottom, which I presume are 2 separate elements? I am worried about the costs of electricity so only been switching these on for an hour or so at 8 p.m just to warm the house and get some hot water for a shower. It's fine at the moment, I just put on an extra jumper but when it gets cold I think I will need to heat the house a little more than I am now. 

Does anybody know how to run these boilers and hot water cylinders efficiently, or even better, able to provide me with a manual?

Your help would be very much appreciated!

With thanks,

Ursula

To get the best use, time the boiler operation to match the cheap times of the E10 tariff which are

3 hours in the afternoon (1.30pm - 4.30pm)

4 hours in the evening (8.30pm - 12.30am)

3 hours in early morning (4.30am - 7.30am)

Times may vary a bit from area to area o check with your energy supplier the exact times of the cheap rate.

So heat the house in the morning before 7:30 and that's done at the cheap rate.  Heat the house again in the afternoon up to 4:30  and that's the cheap rate. 

Then see if you can manage without any more heating until 8:30 pm. If you need to top it up early evening evening it would be at the higher rate.