Loose wire in junction box

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tim Nippard

Reaction score
Hi 

Hope somebody can help me.

I have two consumer units, one supplying original house and one supplying small extension.

They are both wired into a junction box which then connects to the meter.

One of the cables in junction box has fallen out (supply to extension).

I can see where cable should go and I can access the screws that tighten onto cable.

Is it safe for me to tighten screw?, obviously not touching anything else apart from screw.

Should only take a couple of seconds.

Thanks

Tim

Screw could be live if its the live that has fallen out BUT as an electrician i would be checking all the connections whilst i was there also most of the time access to screws etc from the CU towards the incoming supply are secured with seals as they are the responsibility and owned by meter company  / local electricity company so probably not yours to tighten anyway.

Pic might help

Fallen out... thats a bit worrying! 

Dont touch it if there is no means of isolation you could become a part of the national grid.

Does it look like this?

31wPapVyl-L.jpg.f88fa389c6893d5ee6e4b9e6bc373011.jpg

Fallen out... thats a bit worrying! 

Dont touch it if there is no means of isolation you could become a part of the national grid.

Does it look like this?

Yes that is the box installed by builders when extension was built. 

I can see where cable should go and I can access the screws that tighten onto cable.

Is it safe for me to tighten screw?, obviously not touching anything else apart from screw.

Our screwdrivers are insulated to 1000V but even so, it is generally illegal to work on things that are "live" anyway, even for "proper" electricians. [There are very good reasons for this!!]

john..