Hello!

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greentree

Reaction score
Good morning all, I'm just starting out getting qualified.  Been around a bit and have renovated a few properties along the way. 

Cheers for now.

Greentree.

Hi! Well I'm 41, soon to be married and have 2 kids ! Currently studying 17th edition and got a part P course booked for the end of May. 

👍

Hi! Well I'm 41, soon to be married and have 2 kids ! Currently studying 17th edition and got a part P course booked for the end of May. 

👍

As for background well...everything and anything practical .. mechanical, electrical, natural.. I enjoy problem solving and a challenge. 

So go then suggest a scheme or training that would be suitable in your view.. i'm competant in the practical aspects of installation and have had work overseen (as in working with) inspected and signed off by time served electricians. Im starting out on the qualification route working towards being self employed and therefore self insured.

Any pointers gladly accepted!

Whilst you are confident in the physical installation what do you know about the whys and wherefores of what you’re installing? What do you understand about cable calculations to ensure you are using the correct cable? What’s the importance of the Ze and Zs values? What’s the difference in the earthing arrangements of the supply? And so on. 

I’d suggest if you are committed to following in the Electrical trade you need to be as serious about the training. I have been qualified for many years now and still am learning new aspects etc of the trade. 

So my advice would be to invest your time on the relevant C&g courses that actually teach the theory needed to be competent. This will mean starting at the bottom with the Cg2365 and working up from there