Help with wiring for dual dimmer switch

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CluelessSparkie

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Im a complete novice but hope someone can help. We have an extended kitchen out into an extension and have a dual dimmer switch: one for 6 GU10 lights in the original kitchen area and the other for a further 6 in the extension of the building. I didnt install them but were working fine.

The other day, i went to switch on the original kitchen set and there was a big spark from the dimmer switch box and the fusebox was tripped. Resetting the fusebox the extension switch worked but the faulty set still did not work.

Seeing nothing immediately wrong when opening the switch casing, we decided to buy a replacement to see if its a simple part fault. The inside of the switch looks like this:

https://goo.gl/images/M5EZYh

Heres the confusing part (at least for me), the instructions with the new switch unit are not very detailed and we have rewired as we thought it had been before:

Upper L1 feeding in

middle upper going to lower L2

Lower L1 feeding out

lower middle also fed (we were wondering if we should reverse this wire with the one feeding out of lower L1?)

It is clear a professional didnt install the switch originally - the wires going into the switch are all brown and the are part of a thicker bundle of cables with green/yellow included so assume earth is somehow handles outside the switch. The casing box set into the wall is notably not as deep as it perhaps should be and so the wiring is packed in (not ideal).

But now the extension lights switch works but the originsl kitchen 6 lights still arent working, suggesting (perhaps) that the original dimmy switch unit wasnt actually faulty. Anyone have some bright ideas? Perhaps if some could explain how such a switch should be wired it may also help.