Neutral wire keeps melting - immersion heater

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarahabarth

Reaction score
Hi,

the neutral wire on my immersion heater has melted about 5 times in the last year. I've had the thermostat changed twice but the same thing keeps happening.

the thermostat has a reset and is set to 60 degrees. The boost (thankfully) has been okay as I use it very rarely.

everytime I tell my electrician about the problem he spends about 5 mins rewiring then says it should be fine and that there's not much else we can do but keep an eye on it. He said last time he had used heat resistant wire and extra thick - I think 2.5mm? I'm not technical so I'm not sure.

Anyway the problem still hasn't gone away and I'm sick of just ringing the electrician every other month so come and sort and the problem doesn't seem to be getting fixed. 

If anyone has any advice of what the problem could be and how it could be rectified that would be much appreciated! 

I has this once. The only cure was change the immersion heater. It was some kind of internal fault within the heating element itself.

Is that the screw on the element  ...in the top of the heater  or the screw in switch on the wall ?   

Either way  it must be a poor connection  .     

So it's the screw that the neutral wire is attached to on the immersion heater, not one the wall.  It's got so hot that it's melted through one of the brown wires and charred the side of the thermostat. 

As I said before, I had this once.

The connection was properly made with high temperature flex.