Domestic qualifications

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gwalk

Reaction score
Hello all I’m looking for some advice.

I’m a level 3 NVQ qualified electrical engineer working in a marine environment, I was wondering if I chose to try my hand with a domestic installer company how, if possible, would I be able to become qualified? What courses would I need to do? I have not had much experience with domestic work but am a confident electrician, who has worked with many different systems. 

Thanks for any replies 

Is it a case of you are a qualified electrician but merely lack experience in a particular field   ie:  Domestic   ?  

As with myself say ...I'm an electrician covering industrial , commercial & domestic  ,  but no experience in Marine engineering ?

Yes I am a qualified electrician and like you said I just lack experience in the domestic area, as I’ve been involved with marine work all my career, what advise would you give in order for me to progress in a domestic environment? Thanks for the replies 

Read a copy of the on-site guide and or the domestic part p guide to building regs or whatever the thing from the niceic is called, your knowledge and experience will cover the rest. 

Ok thanks, is there any other qualification I should do other than the 17th edition, because my nvq did not cover electrical inspection and testing, thanks 

Then you will want the 2391 or is it still the 2394 & 2395? 
Gone back to the 2391. Three parts just to confuse things a little:

2391-50: Initial Verification. This qualification is suitable for domestic installers who only verify new works such as their own installations.