Road service vehicle and BS7671 regulations

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newbie003

Reaction score
Greetings to the forum,

Hello... My name is Alex and I'm a newbie here.

I have a job interview at the end of next week and was wondering if you guys could help.

I am preparing a presentation of a road survey vehicle and its wiring schematics.

The vehicle is fitted with an inverter converting an auxiliary 12 or 24 V battery/vehicle alternator voltage supply to a single phase 230V AC.

The inverter supplies five appliances used inside the vehicle. Also installed in the vehicle is a double socket which is required for connecting two externally AC appliances e.g. laptop and test equipment, which can only be used when the vehicle is parked.

There are numerous 12V and 24 V DC control and instrumentation appliances fitted in the vehicle these DC loads derive their supply from the auxiliary vehicle battery/vehicle alternator.

In addition, the vehicle has an AC inlet connection.  This is used to connect the vehicle to a building’s 230 VAC single phase.  It enables the auxiliary batteries to be recharged and DC and AC appliances to be operated whilst the vehicle is parked in a garage.

Questions:

Summarise any parts of the latest edition of the BS7671 regulations which are relevant to this application.

To ensure the electrical design was complaint with any relevant parts of the electrical regulations, what would the designer need to specify in terms of layout and components?

What design factors need to be considered when designing such an electrical system especially with respect to Extra low Voltage DC systems?

When the electrical installation is completed are there any actions required to ensure the vehicle complies with electrical safety regulations? If yes then please elaborate.