Newly Qualified - Driving myself mad🤬 Help!!!

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GaryMk

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to the forum.

I done one of those 4 week electrical courses last year, I asked the qustion whilst booking, do you need any experience as I have none at all? They told me you didn’t as it was for complete novices and beginners. So I take the course, qualified Part P, 17th Edition and level 3 Domestic Electrical testing. I was told I was now ready to go out there and BE a Domestic Electrician.....

Not so much, I have only had half a dozen jobs and was stuck on everyone of them, I didn’t know what I do when problems arose. Confidence shot!

Now I am in the position of, not confident doing work on my own, to old to do an apprenticeship, can’t find anyone to take me on to get hands on experience, not qualified enough to apply to work for a company that could give me on the job training?

Always wanted to become an electrician, everyone else on the course I attended had some to good experience in electrics so I was left behind on every task, again confidence shot!

Has anybody out there any suggestions on where I could go from here?

I am 51 years old and based in Milton Keynes

So you’re 51, what have you done before? 

And at what point in your life experience did you ever believe that you could train to do a technical job in 4 weeks? Some people take longer to learn to stack shelves correctly. 

There’s a saying, perhaps you’ve not heard it, If it sounds too good to be true then it usually is. 

So where to go now is probably a question on your mind. 

Speak to the local college about a proper course, apparently colleges are open on Sunday now - so the trainees are telling me.