Minimum Kva/Amps for a new build

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gc100

Reaction score
Hi,

first post- I'm not an electrician and have spoken to my local one about this, but he didn't offer much opinion so I thought I would ask here. I'm converting a barn in open countryside and its about a 600meter run from the nearest transformer. If we go with a 100amp single phase (I'm told the voltage drop and earth loop impendence would be ok) or 40amps over each 3 phase, he thinks I'll need 95mm or 120mm or 150mm 4 core xlpe swa depending on the configuration. It seems for this amount of cable its going to be 16K to 22K + VAT just for the cable !!! .

So I'm wondering if we really need 100amps for a house. Its a new build/conversion so will be insulated very well. I was looking at doing ground source for the heating but could switch to LPG. I was also wanting to to 2x4K solar array on the roof plus Telsa powerwall to store and excess. 3 bed house, 4 person family. 

I was wondering if we can get away with 60amps ? To reach that, we'd needed on at the same time, oven 32A, dryer 11A, washing machine 10A + misc all on at the same time. I could loose the oven completely and go gas (botttle) with that.

Any real world experience of this?  

Many thanks

You need to discuss the options with the DNO.  I would be surprised if they ran an LV cable 600 metres. More likely would be extend the HV overhead and fit a transformer closer to you.  I don't think asking for a lower rating supply would make them fit a smaller cable, loop impedance would be an issue so I doubt there is any saving to be made that way.