Introduction

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karolek

Reaction score
Hi my name is Charles

I'm fairly new to the electrical industry and I am currently in the 2nd year . I'm retraining at the young age of 50 years. Loving every minute of it. Former raf gunner, landscaper and caretaker.
I am looking to gain on the job experience and if there are any Sparks in my area (grimsby) willing to let me Shadow for a day or two adhoc I would be very grateful to trade experience for labour. Cheers.

Welcome Charles, admire your commitment at such a young age! 

Have you popped in to the local wholesalers and asked them if they know of any local sparks that may be able to assist you? 

I have handed my CV into the main wholesaler, I do work with a electrician on a very occasional basis in the commercial sector. I have a lot of experience in fire sysystems and eicr testing. I do however need to get out into the domestic scene to gather more experience.

Where did you gain you’re experience doing EICR’s? To my mind it’s a section of our trade that requires a considerable amount of knowledge regarding the regulations to do properly. (I’m no expert on this as I’ve never done one, not my field). If you have the corroborated knowledge I hope it’s in you’re CV, it’s a key selling point.

I have the experience from working alongside an electrician it's a skill I've learned not a qualification.  All though I spent 6months working on the testing side and remedial work .

I have handed my CV into the main wholesaler, I do work with a electrician on a very occasional basis in the commercial sector. I have a lot of experience in fire sysystems and eicr testing. I do however need to get out into the domestic scene to gather more experience.