Automated Gates - Geometry & Opening angles.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GeddyMortgage

Reaction score
Recently had some  'NICE' automated gates installed, using the Toona 3 system. Really happy with the install, very tidy,  generally happy with the work. Though one niggle i've got is that my drive is at a bit of an odd angle. Which means, to get through the gates easily, both leaves have to open as wide as possible.

During installation, the installer was able to make one of the gate leaves go wider during calibration than what it can in operation. I can't remember his exact explanation for that, but i'm not technical, so accepted it. Since then though, we've found it is a little bit awkward getting through the gates for some of my family. So i've tried to do a little research toward whether there's an easy way to get these gates opening "more"...i've been looking at geometry, and i'm little confused.

I've been looking at this guide https://www.easygates.co.uk/to4024-geom.asp  and comparing the measurements to my gate, mine are are (A)155mm and (B)155mm

I guess my question to you all, is, are any of you of good understanding of Geometry. In the guide above, is it basically saying the measurements within the dark green zones would allow the gates to open further...?

Thanks

Parma

above ground operators usually only go to 100-110 degrees max. to alter it you often need to remove brackets and reweld ithem in a  different position. you should have used an underground operator which can go to 180 degrees

can we have some finished pics of the gate. just curcious to see if they installed it correctly & safely or dangerously...

Certainly - reading Nice's website, they say 120 degrees max. I'm not sure what they're opening too now. But I dont think it's 120. More like 100 (just from eyeballing)

pics to follow.