Heat curve advice

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paulmapp8306

Reaction score
Looking for some advice on heat curve setup.  Only recently installed a new system with a weather compensatory, but my room temps are all over the place.

As I understand heat curves (after some internet searching),  the higher the curve, the hotter the water in the heating system is for any given outside temperature - and the lower the curve the cooler the heating water is.

From my understanding of heating/thermo dynamics (though Im an electronics tech not a plumber/heating engineer) - a high curve will result in hot radiators.  This will raise the room/house temp quickly from a base point, which n the face of it is a good thing.  BUT Im thining that it means once he "set" temp is reached the overshoot is greater than a low heating curve.  Once the boiler stops heating - the hot water in the rads are still heating up the rooms.  Because there hot they still heat quite quickly, and will take longer to cool to room temp and below.  This means the room temp will keep going up for a while.

A low heat curve will result in a muck more stable room temp once the "set" temp is reached - because once the temp is reached and the boiler shuts off, he rads are cooler than with a high heat curve.  The room still heats up but more slowly, and the rads cool quicker to room.below room temp.  This should (in theory) result in a more stable room temp as the room temp wont go as high before the rads stop having an affect.  The down side is it takes longer to reach the room temp from a  lower than "set" temp (say set back temp).

Im guessing that the "ideal" is as low a heat curve as you can get - while still getting a cold room up to temp in a reasonable time.  Not only go you get the more stable room temps - but use less gas getting there.