RCD keep tripping with lots of computer equipment

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leonard Powers

Reaction score
Hi there,

Firstly, I'm not an electrician but an end user.  I've struggled to figure out this problem I have and struggled even more to find an electrician who is willing to even look at the problem when I explain what is happening.

I work mainly from home and have a lot of computer equipment running in the house.  The problem I have is when I power on the server equipment I need for work, the main RCD in the fuse box trips out.  I've managed to get it working to a point that I can power on a single server with just a single power cable installed.  If I plug in the 2nd power cable (they have dual power supplies), the RCD will trip.

My colleague who does the same job has similar equipment in his house.  He had exactly the same problem and we discovered from a website that it has something to do with computer equipment (servers, desktops, laptops) etc all having mini circuit breakers built into them.  Apparently, they make the line very sensitive. (forgive me if what I'm saying is all rubbish - total newbie here).

My colleague fixed his problem by having a new circuit installed with a separate fuse box next to his main one.  This was quite easy to do since everything was in his garage.  Mine is in my utility room so more difficult?

I'm hoping this sound familiar to someone.  I've had one quote from an electrician who never got back to me.  He suggested running all new power to the garage (would prefer the kit to run in there) and that was looking at costing around £1200.  Another electrician said to put in a new fuse box with RCBOs?

Any suggestions on what I can do?  And if anyone is near Milton Keynes, I'm still looking for an electrician to look at this problem.