Testing for a borrowed neutral (I know I've already searched)

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

In Training

Reaction score
Good morning all. I am new to this and I am changing my db for my nic eval. 

The house has a single rcd protecting all but the lighting circuits. 

The lighting is wired in singles (live and earth together and separate neutrals). There is 3 core used to connect the intermediate switch with the other two way switches on the landing circuit. Power is fed from upstairs to th ha switch and the cable (common and switched line) from the landing switch runs into the loft. 

After I had examined this I thought I was ok and closing all lighting circuits on both floors ( so lights were all on) and testing at the db indicated no link between the circuits. 

I am replacing with an 18th edition board with RCBO's shortly. Is there any other way yo check for the borrowed neutral issue or am I now being paranoid?

Thanks for your help....

Good morning all. I am new to this and I am changing my db for my nic eval. 

The house has a single rcd protecting all but the lighting circuits. 

The lighting is wired in singles (live and earth together and separate neutrals). There is 3 core used to connect the intermediate switch with the other two way switches on the landing circuit. Power is fed from upstairs to th ha switch and the cable (common and switched line) from the landing switch runs into the loft. 

After I had examined this I thought I was ok and closing all lighting circuits on both floors ( so lights were all on) and testing at the db indicated no link between the circuits. 

I am replacing with an 18th edition board with RCBO's shortly. Is there any other way yo check for the borrowed neutral issue or am I now being paranoid?

Thanks for your help....
Meant to say the hall switch not th ha switch! Big fingers little phone!