Network Cable

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OliverJohnson

Reaction score
Hi All

I'm looking for some advice and recommendations on the best cat5 and cat 6 network cable that you guys have used. I'm a CCTV installer and was on the hunt for a new supplier of cable as I kept getting let down on delivery. 

Started using VueNet cat5e from these guys and can't fault it, came next day as promised which was what I was after and is decent quality! 

What do members of Talk Electrician Forum use for installations?

Thanks in advance 

Ollie

I get mine from a very nice company near Abingdon....and I use a lot of Data cable and gubbins BUT I will only use Hellerman Tyson Alpha Snap ports unless it is an absolute dire emergency and I am out of stock then I have to buy from local electrical wholesalers. I have had to use some total,and utter 💩 in these situations. Absolutely pure shicking frite

I really try and avoid getting my cable from electrical wholesalers, I'd rather buy in advance and get the bulk discounts!

I really try and avoid getting my cable from electrical wholesalers, I'd rather buy in advance and get the bulk discounts!

But then discounts have to be quite big to counteract any delivery charges and or wasted time for late / missing deliveries, as you said; "was on the hunt for a new supplier of cable as I kept getting let down on delivery". If you are really buying sufficiently large quantities then I would image a lot of wholesalers would be happy to price match. However it can also be false economy storing excessive stock yourself if it ends up sitting around for long periods and not being turned back into profit. Stock on your shelves is dead-money and discounted dead money is still dead money. 

Doc H.