Changing Job

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LukeySpark

Reaction score
Hi All

I am looking to change jobs from a maintenance electrician in the water industry to doing domestic/commercial installation/EICR

i have done a 4 year advanced apprenticeship and picked up other qualifications on the way.

just wanted some advice and thoughts on how to go about it and what i need to do to get the ball rolling??

Thanks in advance

I was an indentured industrial apprentice, no way would I go in to general contracting. OK there was muck and grease, I enjoyed it and had a reliable income.

I ran several (non associated) companies on the side, the bookkeeping drove me up the bloody wall! It’s up to you, if you like hours of doing paperwork, go for it. Having said that, for several years before I retired I was office bound.

I was an indentured industrial apprentice, no way would I go in to general contracting. OK there was muck and grease, I enjoyed it and had a reliable income.

I ran several (non associated) companies on the side, the bookkeeping drove me up the bloody wall! It’s up to you, if you like hours of doing paperwork, go for it. Having said that, for several years before I retired I was office bound.

I have enjoyed the last 9 years of it, and the income is reliable even if it isnt the best. i just thought i am young enough to try something different and see if i enjoy the contracting life.

So my original thought was to start with weekends evenings on my own like Tony said to build a client base. Then I can give my day time job up to be self employed.