Adult Trainee Advice

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JaiTP

Reaction score
Hi All,

Apologies if this question gets asked a lot, but I just wanted to ask you all about my current situation and what the best way would be to approach it.

I’m 22 and finished university in 2018. After spending time in my chosen field (criminal justice) I want to explore my options, as I’m not sure I have the passion for it that I thought I had. After looking around I’ve been drawn to working as an electrician as I have always enjoyed problem solving and working with my hands. I started working in powder coating at 15 and did that until I joined the criminal justice sector this year, so I’m no stranger to manual labour and hard work.

After looking through my options, I see that I can’t do the traditional apprenticeship route as I have a degree. Would it be possible for me to pay to do the Level 2 and Level 3 2365 course perhaps one day/night per week and then work with a company as a trainee/mate for the rest of the week? Even for minimum wage I’d just like to get my foot in the door and get the experience. I’ve also seen some providers do full time courses which can be completed quicker, but I’m not sure what our thoughts are on them (TradeSkills4U)?

I don’t really have much of a background in electrical work. The closest thing to it is when I built a computer earlier this year. But what I lack in experience I can hopefully make up for with a good work ethic and openness to learn.

If I’ve missed anything out you might want to know then feel free to ask. I look forward to hearing from you all!

Unless you are looking at starting up your own business...

then you need to start researching real companies to see what qualifications they are looking for and what types of jobs their enterprise covers..