Replacing a single dimmer switch connected to 2 lights

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cat in the Hat

Reaction score
Hi,

I should start by saying that I'm a rank amateur that tries to tackle small electrical jobs at home, usually with the help of Youtube or this forum. 

I recently knocked and cracked the casing of a dimmer switch that has worked for 10+ years and it now needs replacing as it won't switch on.

When I took the plate off I saw the two live wires for the lights connected to L1 and L2 and the live wire for the plug socket connected to the terminal with the wavy x symbol.

The neutral and earth wires for the plug socket were twisted and wrapped in black electrical tape.

The earth wires for both lamps were also twisted and wrapped in tape and the same was done for the neutral wires for both lamps - see image.

20191126-082436.jpg.225e81279b555dd5e7a9ccb043178191.jpg

This looked quite messy but I took a photo and made a note of the wiring connections so I could recreate it. I've just connected everything in the same way and the light won't come on. 

Does anyone know what could be the problem? Was the original wiring set up badly? I can't find anything on Youtube explaining how to connect two lights (with two sets of wiring) to one dimmer.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

The way it was wired I would say only one light would be on at a time, and pressing the dimmer switch would switch between the two lights.

Does the new dimmer switch have the same labeling or is it L1, L2 and L3?

Last edited by a moderator:
Could be the lamps have failed. Have you tried removing the dimmer from the circuit and joining the three browns together to double check that the lamps do still work?