PVC conduit nail clips

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peter Greer

Reaction score
Hi

Im new to this forum so thanks for having me. Ive been sparking for many years but work alone mostly so don’t get much of a chance to ask fellow sparks their opinion on things. A lot of my work is agricultural and my question relates to surface mounted PVC conduit. I use cable nail clips when fixing long runs of conduit to wooden roof beams for lighting circuits instead of spacer bar saddles. I find it much faster but my question is Are these nail clips an acceptable method to surface mount PVC conduit as they are designed for cable, not conduit? 
thanks

Welcome Peter, 

I think you’ll find that the 18th edition will require some form of metal fixing, we always put up a couple of metal saddles on a length. 

You can get round clips for conduit. Typically only use them in a track (chase) which is being plastered over. 

Last edited by a moderator:
As said above ,   add a  few metallic  clips  .   I  don't see a problem with using the giant cable type  clips  just to hold PVC conduit  . All I can think of is saddles are designed to let the conduit expand & contract through them .       There is a high  linear expansion with PVC conduit , hence the need for lots of saddles . 

Run it horizontally in direct sunlight  and you'll see the droopy result after a good summer. .  

If you've had no problems carry on .