Ring mains in a new build

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nfs2000

Reaction score
Afternoon all, first post so go easy! :)  

I've come here becuase im not an electrician and i want an experts opinion based on regulations.

We've just moved into a new build property and it has a consumer unit in the garage, all looks fine. Anyway i was looking at what switches did what as it had two for sockets and assumed it was two ring mains, probably upstairs and downstairs as it had been in previous properties.

However, when testing, it appears its wired up so that the front half of the house is on one switch, and the back half of the house is on the other.

Is this normal? I even went as far as talking to the people who inspected it and provided the certificate but i wanted a second opinion as he basically said it depends on how the electrician wants to wire it up and theres no regulations around how it should be wired. One of the other houses on the estate where i live (the same type of house might i add) is wired up differently, which is wire upstairs/downstairs as i assumed originally.

Can anyone tell me if its right that its wired like this, and whether or not there are any regulations around it please?

Thanks in advance!

Its not a Regulation as far as I know .     Its quite a good method actually ... if one of the circuits tripped out , at least you would have a second circuit of plugs ,    either at the front  , up & down  or at the back , up & down .

It probably saves cable too , at first fix ,   with up & down rings the up  wiring  virtually follows the down wiring .   

A 3 bed house , in my opinion ,  would only need a general ring  covering Lounge /dining /upstairs     and a kitchen ring .  

So don't worry , its fine , I see a lot of new properties wired that way.  

You can wire any circuit however you want to..