DONT STAY LURKING AS A GUEST,

JOIN TEF AND BENEFIT FROM MEMBERSHIP:

CLICK HERE TO JOIN.
  •  

Countdown To Christmas!

Any Guidance for going Self Employed

Lillpete

Question

I am in the process of sorting myself out to go self employed and am looking for guidance.

I know that the current climate is not the best to be launching a new business into however I am currently earning such a low wage I feel I haven't got much to lose.

I have been an electrician for around three years after retraining (yes it was a fast track course but I have been an a steep learning curve ever since). I have now been offered semi regular work from a couple of familly members which, although nowhere near enough to live on by itself has spurred me on to give it a go.

I've been looking into various scheme providers (notably BSi and NIC) and know I will need public liability insurance but was wondering where people tend to get the best rates for this and if there is any other insurances I should look at??

Are there any guys on here who have gone self employed only to not get enough work and end up going back on the books??

Any guidance and advice would be gratefully recieved.

Cheers ;)

londonleccy

I'm in the same boat Lill Pete.Working for a firm but picking up bits and pieces.I staerted about 3 months ago and now i'm seriously considering going full self employed.As you start doing small jobs ,if you do a decent job,word gets around and work does start coming to you .

Got my NICEIC assessment in2 weeks,I decided to sign up when I had to blow out a couple of jobs for builders who wanted work notified through a scam provider.

I currently work 2-3 evenings and most saturdays,mostly small jobs but hopefully carry on building up work.

Good luck with your business

SPECIAL LOCATION