fitting a shower (plumbing)

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sellers

Reaction score
I've got a copper pipe poking out of the wall horizontally by about an inch, it has an olive on it and nut.

I've never done the plumbing side before and I'll be getting a plumber in if i cant do it but im gonna have a go.

I tried the shower fitting with the outlet facing in the wall and it fits over it but the shower sits a bit too proud, 10mm off the wall, with a bit of luck when tiled it will be perfect but if not whats the best way of putting a 90 on it and then into the shower.

Thank you please.

Compression 90 and into the shower but TBH 10mm for tile and adhesive is ample. I'd say the finished tile surface would easily be 10mm or more from the plastered wall surface, last bathroom I tiled the tiles and adhesive were closer 20mm.

hi sellers, if there is room in the shower and if you can get the nut and olive off you may be able to use a push fit, if the nut is a solderd fitting type then you will have to use a compresion, dont forget the PTFE tape and make sure you wind it on the correct way.

are we talking something like this, one end open for the shower to screw over. and the other to compress round the existing copper pipe

I've got a copper pipe poking out of the wall horizontally by about an inch, it has an olive on it and nut. I've never done the plumbing side before and I'll be getting a plumber in if i cant do it but im gonna have a go.

I tried the shower fitting with the outlet facing in the wall and it fits over it but the shower sits a bit too proud, 10mm off the wall, with a bit of luck when tiled it will be perfect but if not whats the best way of putting a 90 on it and then into the shower.

Thank you please.
have you got the 90 compression elbow that came off the previous joint?