first cu change, advice would be nice

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loz

Reaction score
I'm in my 4th year of my apprenticeship and consider myself quite competent. The downside is that i have only worked with underground cabling on caravan site distribution.

My dad has asked me to change his cu in his house as he wants to update it. the current situation is old 6 way 3036 board, tt earthing, no main bonding but a 6mm supplementary bond to the shower. The cable going to the tt rod is currently a 6mm.

My plan is to install a 10 way dual rcd board, 10mm main bond at point of entry on the copper water pipe, run a 16mm earth to a new rod and pit in the front garden (id like to aim for <50 ohms.

My quiestion is does the cu need to be protected by a separate 100mA rcd or is it ok to rely on the 2 30mA rcds in the board?

Also is it best to reconnect the 6mm supplementary bond to the shower? or leave disconnected?

Also should i leave the existing earth rod and 6mm cable connected to create a better earth? (current readin to rod is around 60ohms (main earth disconnected to test) , boards readiing is 0.29 due to supp bonding being in plaice

Any help would be much appreciated, loz

NO, not yet, i want to make sure i know i will be doing the job properly before we do that, as if i dont know its getting done properly then ill just say to him i dont feel confident doing it, youll have to get somebody else to do it. But if i do do it, then yes i will inform labc before i carry out any works

Like Zeespark says you should inform your Dads LABC (and pay the fee) that you are replacing his CU at least 2 days before you start the work.

The only other thing that I'd say is that if you are leaving the old rod connected then they should be at least twice as far apart as they are deep,,, IYKWIM?