Hello to all

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave.C

Reaction score
Hi to all

I am new to the trade, due to redundancies etc, I went self employed, worked for a friend doing electrics as a labourer and decided to get some sort of qualification so went down the fast track route.

I can imagine the gnashing of teeth by all time served fully fledged sparks but at the wee tender age of 45, I was a tad too old for becoming an apprentice or indeed working at that wage level.

So thus far, I have gone most of the way through a domestic installers course , completing 17th Ed and 2393 Part P compliance ( although beginning to think this was a bit of a whit elephant) and am now about 1/3 through the 2394 and 2395 section, with 1 practical assessment and the 2 written exams to do.

I was sitting going through my notes, and got into a mind block, thought I would use tinterweb to look up the answer and stumbled upon this site and decided to register, if only to say hello.

So Hello to all

Dave.C

Welcome. 

Yes short courses are not met with much respect from time served electricians but I personally can understand why you made the choice you did. 

If if you work within your limits and surround yourself with good people then the only way is up. 

Ask questions and enjoy the forum. 

Last edited by a moderator:
at least he has been working as a labourer Andy. You have a lot to learn, post questions, try to gve an answer and you will get far more help than just asking questions and seeing if someone tells you what you want to know.

The short course is ok if you are working with an electrician. There is a lot of information to take in, in a short space of time and for that, a level of intelligence is required.