Part of the house dark

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Simosos

Reaction score
Hi all, 

I'm Simon and I like to work with this kind of things even if I'm not a professional. for this reason I would like to fix the problem occurred at home and try to save money.

what happened is that my wife changing the bulbs due to apply new chandelier probably caused an overload because the lights in the kitchen and all first floor don't work. the house is a terraced house but what is strange is that the light at the entrance is still working.

I checked the bulbs and aren't burned: all of them are led.

I tried to check the fuse box which is very old model with big black plug to put into a socket. all the filament are safe. 

2ymzsjs.png.85ead0d0bf9009960b44709d0dbec7a5.png

there are 1 with of 5AMP for lights 1 blu of 15AMP and 2 red of 50AMP.

trying to removing the white is for sitting room area, the 2 red for oven and socket and the blue one look like nothing. I mean removing everything look like working well. even considering 15 AMP is too much for lights. but the filament is perfectly intact.

so where is the problem?

I checked other fuse box but there aren't. under roof as well. 

any suggest from you? 

thanks a lot

Simon

1 check fuse wire - do not replace with anything other than 5 amp fuse wire

2 did you change a light fitting to install a new chandelier? Not clear from your post

3 LED lamps would not overload the circuit, so sounds like you have caused a fault eihter from the lamp holders or whilst installing chandelier

thank you very much Binky for your answer!