Storage

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OnOff

Mad Inventor™
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Storage containers................Finally tackling the "dumping ground shed" - old stable block that really needs rebuilding. Asbestos roof, sloping , crumbling walls and a couple of trees pushing walls etc.

Aside from the obligatory obscure electrical bits and pieces, amongst other stuff I have collected are small fixings that I have aquired over 30 years. Mainly nuts, bolts and washers from M3 to probably M24 maybe M30. Galv, BZP, stainless then taper & spring washers, HSFG stuff. scroll, roll and split pins and even ones with RAL painted heads. Even have machined stainless bolts from when I was an apprentice where the factory would make rather than buy standard bolt sizes just to keep the machinists busy!

At the mo it's pretty much big (growing) boxes of assorted bolts another of washers etc. Mainly metric but the odd bit of imperial in there too. It'll come in useful one day! Being the spendthrift that I am I reckon that I could do something with the myriad 1 gallon tins I've collected (yes, I know most would throw them away). Mainly contained wood preserver and the like. I like the idea of lines of the same container with say M12x45 galv in one and M12x50 galv in the next one. YES, I'm that anal.
laugh.gif
& YES I could fill up tins with some of the sizes!

In the garage I've made a frame over one of the 8' benches out of Uni-strut and I have louvre panels with the clip on bins. BUT............need MORE storage!

Seem to remember an old neighbour did similar with the old style GTX cans. (Was also big on Old Holborn tins too).

Easy enough to cut neatly to height with a sliting disc but not sure on folding the edges over to avoid sharp edges...........

("Myriad" and "anal" in the same post.........guessing that's a first on here?)