Electric motor checks by enthusiastic amatuer

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Clutha

Reaction score
Greetings,

I have to lay this out in best typing as I'm not allowed to post pictures, yet.

A friend has a sick electric/hydraulic log splitter. I fixed a hydraulic fault some time ago but now the motor is seized.

I'm mechanical by trade with some electrical experience from my time at sea.

The  motor is 230v, 13.2A, 50hz, P1 3.00kW, P2 2.35 kW, 2,800 RPM, S6 40%, Cos 0.37, IP 54, Isol. KI B, VDE 0530/11.72

All the above from motor ID plate.

The chopper was working away when the circuit breaker tripped, the owner saw smoke coming out of the plug/socket on the machine. 

I dismantled this and the female connectors, (on the plug end) were burned badly. It's a German type F plug and I fitted a new one.

On trying to start the machine, nothing happened. I took the motor fan cover off and it's seized.

Today I measure resistance at the three wires coming from the motor, (all disconnected).

There is one wire lighter than the other two, I presume the 'common'.

I got 330 ohms between both heavier wires to the common.

0.003K ohms between both heavier wires.

All wires to motor casing zero ohms.

Motor is aluminium with cast iron ends.

So, what say ye?

Zero ohms from winding to earth means it is knacked.

Is one of the Chinese ones from eBay, I got one once brand new and when I opened up the plug top on it I found it was shorted out with a bit of wire, as the starting current would blow the fuse, naughty naughty Chinese man.

Zero ohms from winding to earth means it is knacked.

Is one of the Chinese ones from eBay, I got one once brand new and when I opened up the plug top on it I found it was shorted out with a bit of wire, as the starting current would blow the fuse, naughty naughty Chinese man.

Thanks Roy,