Bizarre RCD tripping fault

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PheonixFoX12

Reaction score
Hi all,

Strange problem ive been trying to get my head around recently. I have an old single RCD protected Wylex fuse board in my property. Every time the loft space lights are turned on the RCD seems to trip out yet the loft space lights stay on for the duration.

However the only circuit not protected by the RCD are the downstairs lights or as so noted on the fuseboard.

Can anyone help.

Just to clarify I am a 2nd year apprentice with a Level 3 electrical install qualification.

Ta

A N-E fault on a non RCD protected circuit can cause issues on an RCD protected circuit, e.g if there is some leakage on the RCD protected circuit but not enough to trip it, that leakage may increase as more neutral current is diverted when the other faulty circuit is on.

Proper methodical IR testing of all circuits will identify the problem.

I understand. What I can't seem to understand is why the loft lighting continues to stay on when the RCD trips. Surely they would not be wired onto the downstairs lighting which is the only non-RCD protected circuit.

They are old fluorescent tubes, I was originally considering any in-rush current but this wouldnt affect the RCD more likely to affect the MCB protecting the circuit?

Cheers

If the light is on a mcb not protected by the rcd, then the light will stay on BUT a fault on this circuit could trip the rcd

be interested to see a photo of this board

Agreed yes a fault on a non-rcd protected circuit could trip the RCD. What I find more bizarre is the location. Why do the lights in the loft stay on when the RCD trips purely because the only LTG circuit protected by the RCD is the downstairs circuit.

Here is a picture of the board if that helps. Apologies its a clipsal board not wylex.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg