Developing a Tool for Post-Soldering Insulation

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maxschutz

Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I am a electrical/mechanical engineering student in my 6th semester in Germany. This is my first post on the forum, hope if I violate any guidelines or posted in the wrong category, that you will bear with me.

Introduction to the topic:
As a hobbyist I often tinker with boards/arduinos and servos. It has happened to me more than once that I forgot the heat shrink tubing. Now, to resolder the 20 cables or so afterwards, is time-consuming. Now my thought was that I can surely put an insulation (shrink tape/resin/glue etc.) on the soldering point with the help of a tool. After a long search on the Internet, I have not found a solution to the problem. Simply insulating all around with an insulating tape afterwards was too clunky for me and sometimes not possible because of the placement of the solder joint. Hope everyone can imagine what my issue is now.
I already have the go from my professor to develop my own solution, but still need to find out the requirements/boundaries that my proposed solution needs to meet at the end.

Now for my 3 questions on the subject.

1st question would be: If there is any interest at all in a solution for this (insulating afterwards) Problem? I have now already asked 3 electricians that i personally know and all agreed that such a tool would make their job easier and that there is interest.

2. what requirements would you place on this tool? (its insulation). For example: it must be a sliding insulation (like heat shrink tubing), the insulation must be flexible, the tool must be operated by hand force only...