Growatt dongle help

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steviesparkie

Reaction score
Hi.we recently changed our home wifi network and cannot get the growatt dongle to update and connect...we have tried the book guide and it fails at 90% every time.anyone near cumbernauld that can attend/help? Can we remove datalogger and connect it to a laptoo to program it ?

Thanks john.we have the other one without the bottom button.(has the key port) We have followed all the steps for that model but it fails at 90% update....

Just pure guesswork, as I have no first-hand knowledge or experience of your kit..

But as you said you have changed your home wi-fi....
Could it be a wi-fi frequency related problem?
e.g. have you changed from a 2.4gig to 5gig wi-fi set up?

And possibly the dongle isn't happy with a 5gig network?

Or if your dongle and wi-fi router have a few obstacles between them,
generally a 2.4gig band network will perform better than a 5gig.

Maybe its failing due to poor signal connectivity..?
e.g. too many time-out delays, transmissions errors etc..?

(bit of side info re 2.4g -vs- 5.0g wi-fi bandwidth etc..)
https://www.howtogeek.com/222249/wh...ghz-and-5-ghz-wi-fi-and-which-should-you-use/

Can you identify which frequency your dongle wi-fi is using..
and/or force it to use a specific frequency?

Maybe that's a help.. if so have a beer to celebrate.. 🍺
Or if not.. have two beers to commiserate!! 🍻

Maybe too late for this but you could try altering the ssid and password on your new router to the same as your old one and assuming its 2.4g turn off 5g for now to make it less confusing. Not much use if you have already reset the dongle though.

That wont work because the ssid will not be the old one. Hoping some pc geek can advise if i can connect the dongle to a laptop and communicate directly to update ?