Hello - New member looking for some advice...

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TimBe

Reaction score
Hello to everybody
I'm Tim and I live in Nottingham a novice to solar but just in the process of DIY on roof solar install.
I work in the building trade and used to working at height and on roofs so no brainer to install my own panels
Had to carry out some work to my roof in preparation like swapping out any spalled/damaged/broken rosemary tiles and resetting all the ridge tiles, and now have rails fitted in preparation for the panels. I have limited amount of roof space so trying to achieve 4kw but could really use some input on solar strings.
The main roof on the house is generally South East facing but doesn't have a lot of real estate as there is a gable that comes of the main roof and also 2 skylights to provided light into a bedroom and a stairwell in the loft space. Part of this roof will also have a 30 Solar tube array fitted so I'm left with an area that I could get 3 large 550w panels fitted or maybe at a push 4 x ≈400w panels.
The gable roof that comes of the main roof is generally South West facing and is quite long but not very tall, I can mount a single row of 6 or ≈400w panels
The above would see my available roof space maxed out unless I added to North East on the gable roof or North West on the main roof but 4kw was my initial target anyway.

So the input I really need is about strings and string sizes.
I'm aware about mixing different panels on a string but what about if I had 1 string with 550w panels and 1 string with 400w panels is that acceptable?
Should strings be balanced and of equal size? Because if I did go with the 550w panels it would be 1650w on 1 string and ≈2400w on the other