Hello

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trev

Reaction score
Hi guys

I'm Trev and I'm a long time member but first time poster, figured I should probably put that right.

I'm a 51 year old apprentice trained spark, husband of 1 (sort of since we're not married) father of 3, grandad of 1. I like music, beer, rugby and my job.

It's me who is responsible for the Facebook page which Damian was on about on another thread which is now closed (I'd be posting this on there otherwise)

Why did I do it? I hear you ask.

Many reasons, I'm a member of a few sparks forums and I'm sick of hearing the same old same old over and over again. 5WW bad, scams terrible, beuraucracy evil, I'm sure you know what I'm talking about. I see this on a daily basis so I decided it was time to either put up or shut up.

Yes I'm advocating what could be described as civil disobedience, well I'm pretty well into that sort of thing. Nothing was ever changed by people quietly accepting "That's just the way things are"

Another reason is that I see the schemes as a cancer on our trade, as an example the ESC had an income last year of £35 million. When did you last see an ad campaign from them promoting what they are supposed to be doing? The NICEIC like to shout about how they are the guardians of electrical safety, we've all seen examples of terrible work done by people "Proud to wear their badge"

The DCLG probe into what is going on will come up with a fudge. Of that there is no doubt! They will then all shout about what they've done and how proud they are to have done it, meanwhile nothing will change and we'll all still be seeing the same old rubbish in 5 years time.

If it falls flat on it's backside it means that no one can ever complain about any of the things mentioned above so it'll end a debate which we're all sick of.